Roadster
Next-generation all-electric supercar. Reservations are open with a $50,000 deposit; production timing, final price, and specifications remain unconfirmed.
WatchKey Facts at a Glance
- Seating 4 (Tesla-published design target)
- Real-World Range 620 mi Tesla target — no production vehicle or independent test yet
- Towing N/A (sports car)
- FSD Hardware TBD (unconfirmed)
- Max Charging Rate TBD (unconfirmed)
- Safety No crash test data.
Not ordering yet?
Our watch rating still applies. You can review the referral terms now and check eligibility again when the timing improves.
Review referral benefit & caveats →HARDWARE VERSION GUIDE
Tesla's OTA software capability is determined by the hardware computer installed at the factory — not the model year or trim level. If you're buying used, check which HW version is in the specific car before purchasing.
VERSION COMPARISON
|
Roadster
$200,000
|
Founders Series
$250,000
|
|
|---|---|---|
| Tagline | Reservations open with a $50,000 deposit. Final price and specs unconfirmed. | Historical limited edition; current availability is not stated. |
| 0-60 mph | 1.9s 0-60; 4.2s 0-100 (Tesla targets) | 1.9s 0-60; 4.2s 0-100 (Tesla targets) |
| Range | 620 mi (Tesla target) | 620 mi (Tesla target) |
| Drivetrain | All-Wheel Drive (Tesla page) | All-Wheel Drive (Tesla page) |
| Power | 10,000 Nm wheel torque (Tesla target) | 10,000 Nm wheel torque (Tesla target) |
| Top Speed | Over 250 mph (Tesla target) | Over 250 mph (Tesla target) |
| Highlights | 8.8s quarter-mile target, 4 seats, removable glass roof | Historical limited edition; current availability not stated |
| Verdict |
Tesla publishes extraordinary performance targets and reservations are open, but no production vehicle has validated those claims. Production date, delivery timing, and final price remain unconfirmed; the $50,000 deposit ties up substantial funds.
|
Pre-production. Tesla's current reservation page does not identify a Founders Series option. Delivery timeline unknown.
|
TL;DR
RELEASE HISTORY & WHAT CHANGED
Unveiled at Tesla Semi event. Teased specs: 0-60 under 1.9s (unconfirmed), 620+ mi range (unconfirmed), Tri Motor AWD (unconfirmed), top speed 250+ mph (unconfirmed). Base price ~$200,000, Founders Series ~$250,000. Reservations opened with $50,000 deposit.
Q1 2026 earnings call (April 22): Elon Musk confirmed the April reveal was pushed back — again. Said the unveil may happen 'in a month or so.' Manufacturing location confirmed as Giga Texas (revealed on Ride The Lightning podcast, May 2026). This marks the eighth significant delay since the 2017 announcement.
Tesla's official Roadster page continues to advertise pre-production targets of 1.9-second 0–60 mph, 4.2-second 0–100 mph, an 8.8-second quarter-mile, over 250 mph top speed, 10,000 Nm wheel torque, 620 miles of range, all-wheel drive, and seating for four. It also describes a removable glass roof that stores in the trunk. The reservation page is accepting orders: $5,000 by credit card today (labeled fully refundable) plus a $45,000 wire within 10 days. Final vehicle price and delivery timing are not stated.
Placeholder production date — Tesla has not confirmed a production or delivery timeline.
FEATURE DEEP-DIVE
Full Self-Driving (FSD)
- Hardware
- TBD (unconfirmed)
- Capabilities
- FSD capability expected — specific hardware generation not confirmed
- Option
- TBD
- Subscription
- TBD
Charging
- Max Rate
- TBD (unconfirmed)
- Range per 15 min
- TBD
- Home Charging
- TBD — NACS expected
- Port
- NACS (expected, unconfirmed)
Interior
- Seating for four (Tesla-published design target)
- Lightweight removable glass roof stores in the trunk
- SpaceX cold gas thruster package rumored (unconfirmed)
- Performance-focused cabin
- All specs subject to change before production
Safety
No crash test data. Pre-production vehicle. All safety specs TBD.
5-YEAR OWNERSHIP ESTIMATE
- Fuel Savings (5 yr)
- TBD — depends on final price and competing gas sports cars
- Maintenance (5 yr)
- TBD — high-performance EV, expect premium service costs
- Insurance
- TBD — expect very high premiums for a $200k+ supercar
- Depreciation
- TBD — limited production may support resale value
- Federal Credit
- N/A — federal credit expired before production start
- Bottom Line
- Pre-production. All cost estimates unconfirmed. Check back when production begins.
PRICING & SAVINGS
Federal EV Tax Credit (Expired)
The federal EV tax credit expired September 30, 2025. The up-to-$7,500 credit for new EVs (Section 30D) and up-to-$4,000 credit for used EVs (Section 25E) are no longer available for vehicles acquired after that date.
The federal charger-installation credit information previously shown here expired June 30, 2026. Verify whether any replacement federal, state, or utility program applies before purchase.
STATE INCENTIVE EXAMPLES
OTHER SAVINGS
- ▸Tesla current offer: trade in a gas or hybrid vehicle and receive 2,000 free Supercharging miles on an eligible new Tesla; miles expire two years after delivery
- ▸Tesla current offer: Model 3 Premium and Performance financing from 1.99% APR for up to 72 months
- ▸Tesla current offer: Model Y RWD/AWD/Premium financing from 1.49% APR; Performance financing from 3.99% APR for up to 72 months
- ▸Tesla current offer: Model Y L Launch Series includes one year each of FSD (Supervised), Premium Connectivity, and Supercharging plus free interior and exterior options
- ▸Tesla lists a $99/month FSD (Supervised) subscription and a 30-day trial with new-vehicle delivery
- ▸Many employers offer pre-tax commuter benefits for EV charging
- ▸Some utilities offer time-of-use rates — charge overnight at $0.04-0.08/kWh
- ▸Tesla Supercharger network: ~$0.35-0.50/kWh, still 40-60% cheaper than gas
- ▸No oil changes, no transmission service, brake pads last 100k+ miles (regen braking)
Tesla promotions are subject to eligibility rules and may change or end at any time. Prices exclude destination, order, taxes, and other fees unless stated. State and local incentives vary. Verify every offer on Tesla's Current Offers page before purchasing.